An independent, non-profit organization, the Writers' Chapel Trust serves to remember, recognize and celebrate the writers of Canada 's past. Each autumn, the Trust installs a bronze plaque honouring an individual writer in the Writers' Chapel of St James the Apostle Anglican Church (corner St. Catherine and Bishop streets). Established in 2011, the roots of the Writers' Chapel Trust stretch back to an autumn afternoon two years earlier when a small, intimate group gathered at Montreal 's St. James the Apostle Anglican Church to unveil a plaque in honour of John Glassco. This was followed in 2010 with a plaque honouring A.J.M. Smith. In 2011, poet, professor and lawyer, F. R. Scott, was honoured and in 2012, Hugh MacLennan was honoured with a plaque. In 2013, Gwethalyn Graham, author of Earth and High Heaven was honoured and in 2014 a plaque was dedicated to honour Louis Hémon. In 2015, Mavis Gallant was honoured and in 2016, A. M. Klein will have a plaque installed in his honour.

The A. M. Klein plaque installation will be held on Thursday, October 6th, 2016 at 6:00 pm at the Writers' Chapel, St. James Apostle Anglican Church. The Church is located at 1439, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest and the entrance to the Writers' Chapel is on the Bishop Street side of the Church.

Esther Frank will be the guest speaker. She is a Faculty Lecturer in the Department of Jewish Studies at McGill University. She teaches Modern American and Canadian prose and poetry written by Jewish authors and Modern Yiddish poetry and prose in Yiddish and in English Translation. She is currently at work on an authorized bilingual (Yiddish and English) scholarly edition of works by the Yiddish poet Rachel (Rokhl) Korn who immigrated to Canada in 1948.

Her tribute to the Klein event will be to talk about Klein as a translator, and show in brief, some of the ways in which he gave the broadest meanings to this as part of his vocation as a poet.

The plaque ceremony will be followed by a wine and cheese reception in the Church and all are welcome to attend.


Contact Us | ©2003-2016 Writer's Chapel Trust